Processing levels

Commercial Level 2 and Level 3 Processing

Credit card processing fits into three levels: Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3. Each level is defined by the amount of information that is required to complete a transaction.

  • Level 1: Normal interchange, no additional fields required
  • Level 2: Lower interchange, additional fields required
  • Level 3: Lowest interchange, additional fields required

For Level 2 and Level 3, only business to business merchants and the government can receive lower interchange fees. In addition, either corporate, business, or a purchase card is required to receive the lower interchange rate for Level 2 and Level 3. This feature is only supported on Visa and Mastercard branded cards. Because only business to business and government transactions qualify, you must first enable a Merchant for Level 2/3 processing.

Commercial Lvl 2

To help qualify for the lowest interchange rates on commercial cards, we recommend that Level II transactions include the following: SalesTaxAmount (valid SalesTaxAmount must be greater than 0.1% of the sale amount, as tax-exempt transactions do not qualify for Level II interchange rates) CommercialCardCustomerCode (such as a PO Number) ShippingZipcode TicketNumber BillingName

Was this page helpful?

Search our blog, contact support. You can also chat live with other developers.

Search Results